We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.

Advertiser Disclosure

Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

How We Make Money

We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently from our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What Is Kosher Pizza?

By Cindy Quarters
Updated May 16, 2024
Our promise to you
DelightedCooking is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At DelightedCooking, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

Kosher laws are Jewish rules concerning what may or may not be eaten. These holy laws dictate which animals are clean or unclean for consumption, how animals must be slaughtered and processed, and which foods may not be eaten together. Kosher pizza is pizza that adheres to these kosher laws, making it fit to eat for those who follow this way of life.

There are many considerations that must go into the making of kosher pizza. One of the less obvious concerns is whether the dough itself conforms to kemach yashan, a law that says grain must have taken root prior to Passover to be eaten in a given year. While Jewish law mandates following this law in Israel, Jews in other countries are not required to do so. Some do, however, and for these people it is important that the pizza start with kosher dough.

All cheese used to make kosher pizza must also be kosher. By definition, any cheese not made by Jews is not kosher and therefore cannot be used on a kosher pizza. It is not necessary for a Jew to personally make the cheese, especially since in factories much of the work is done by machine, but it must be supervised according to kosher law. When rennet, an essential ingredient of cheese, is added, it must be done by a Jewish person, or the factory must be owned by Jews.

The addition of rennet is considered highly important because rennet is actually an animal-based product. This enzyme is made from the lining of an animal’s stomach, typically a calf that has never eaten anything but milk. For the rennet to be usable, the animal must have been slaughtered and processed according to kosher law. Having a Jewish person supervise the process of adding the rennet is intended to ensure that only kosher rennet is used.

Once all of the ingredients for a kosher pizza have been determined to adhere to kosher law, they can be combined to make a pizza. One of the rules of kosher states that meat and dairy cannot be combined, so a kosher pizza will have cheese and sauce on it, but no meat of any kind. (Rennet is added to milk in a minuscule amount and does not break kosher laws.) Instead, kosher pizza is made from several different kinds of cheese with added herbs and may include chopped vegetables such as mushrooms and tomatoes.

DelightedCooking is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.

Discussion Comments

DelightedCooking, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

DelightedCooking, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.