We are independent & ad-supported. We may earn a commission for purchases made through our links.

Advertiser Disclosure

Our website is an independent, advertising-supported platform. We provide our content free of charge to our readers, and to keep it that way, we rely on revenue generated through advertisements and affiliate partnerships. This means that when you click on certain links on our site and make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn more.

How We Make Money

We sustain our operations through affiliate commissions and advertising. If you click on an affiliate link and make a purchase, we may receive a commission from the merchant at no additional cost to you. We also display advertisements on our website, which help generate revenue to support our work and keep our content free for readers. Our editorial team operates independently from our advertising and affiliate partnerships to ensure that our content remains unbiased and focused on providing you with the best information and recommendations based on thorough research and honest evaluations. To remain transparent, we’ve provided a list of our current affiliate partners here.

What is Tamari Soy Sauce?

Mary McMahon
By
Updated May 16, 2024
Our promise to you
DelightedCooking is dedicated to creating trustworthy, high-quality content that always prioritizes transparency, integrity, and inclusivity above all else. Our ensure that our content creation and review process includes rigorous fact-checking, evidence-based, and continual updates to ensure accuracy and reliability.

Our Promise to you

Founded in 2002, our company has been a trusted resource for readers seeking informative and engaging content. Our dedication to quality remains unwavering—and will never change. We follow a strict editorial policy, ensuring that our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and edited by subject matter experts. This guarantees that everything we publish is objective, accurate, and trustworthy.

Over the years, we've refined our approach to cover a wide range of topics, providing readers with reliable and practical advice to enhance their knowledge and skills. That's why millions of readers turn to us each year. Join us in celebrating the joy of learning, guided by standards you can trust.

Editorial Standards

At DelightedCooking, we are committed to creating content that you can trust. Our editorial process is designed to ensure that every piece of content we publish is accurate, reliable, and informative.

Our team of experienced writers and editors follows a strict set of guidelines to ensure the highest quality content. We conduct thorough research, fact-check all information, and rely on credible sources to back up our claims. Our content is reviewed by subject matter experts to ensure accuracy and clarity.

We believe in transparency and maintain editorial independence from our advertisers. Our team does not receive direct compensation from advertisers, allowing us to create unbiased content that prioritizes your interests.

Tamari is a type of shoyu, the Japanese word for “soy sauce.” The technique for making it is quite distinctive, yielding a complex, rich flavor that some people find very enjoyable. Many Asian markets stock this product, and it can also be found at general stores that stock Asian ingredients. True tamari has a very dark color and an almost smoky flavor, and it can be used as a dip, marinade, or baste; it is also used as a component in other sauces and dips.

To make tamari, the liquid that drains from miso as it ages is collected. Miso is a fermented soybean paste that is a major component in Japanese cooking, and it appears in soups, stocks, sauces, and a wide variety of other foods. It is also made with a range of grains, yielding an array of textures, flavors, and feels. In Japan, tamari soy sauce production is focused in the Chubu region, where it is also known as miso-damari.

In the West, there is a great deal of confusion surrounding tamari. This is because Japanese shoyus were originally introduced, marketed, and sold in the West as “tamari,” rather than being differentiated by type. As a result, a wide range of products were known by the name when the real product was introduced. This has been especially problematic for the gluten intolerant, as tamari is naturally gluten free, but shoyu is not, since shoyu is traditionally fermented with wheat.

In fact, tamari soy sauce is distinct from other types of shoyu and soy sauces from other regions, and it cannot be interchanged with sauces like usukuchi shoyu or Indonesian kecap. Tamari is rich, with a tangy flavor from the miso fermentation process, and it is one of the darkest forms of Japanese shoyu. Because there is a bit of confusion about soy sauce labeling in the United States, people with gluten intolerance should read labels on all products carefully to ensure that they are true tamari, fermented without any gluten.

People who are interested in food history may be intrigued to know that some food historians believe that tamari is the original soy sauce. The recipe for it most closely mimics the soy sauce production technique imported from China to Japan, and Chinese soy sauces continue to be made with similar recipes, incorporating minimal grains other than soybeans.

DelightedCooking is dedicated to providing accurate and trustworthy information. We carefully select reputable sources and employ a rigorous fact-checking process to maintain the highest standards. To learn more about our commitment to accuracy, read our editorial process.
Mary McMahon
By Mary McMahon

Ever since she began contributing to the site several years ago, Mary has embraced the exciting challenge of being a DelightedCooking researcher and writer. Mary has a liberal arts degree from Goddard College and spends her free time reading, cooking, and exploring the great outdoors.

Discussion Comments

By Azuza — On Nov 30, 2012

@ceilingcat - I don't blame you for being curious. I always like to know what I'm eating, so I'm a huge reader of the labels. My local sushi place has soy sauce that just says "soy sauce." It doesn't say anything about being tamari soy sauce gluten free, so I'm assuming it's not.

By ceilingcat — On Nov 30, 2012

I had no idea there were so many different types of soy sauce. Most of the Asian restaurants near me seem to serve Kikkoman soy sauce. I'm not sure if it's tamari soy sauce or not, as I've never thought to look on the bottle. I just though that all soy sauce was the same.

I guess it's a good thing I'm not gluten intolerant though, or else I would have had more of an incentive to be checking the label. So to me it doesn't matter either way whether it is tamari or not. I'm just really curious.

By Pharoah — On Nov 29, 2012

@betterment - It would actually make more sense for your friend to avoid soy sauce that contains alcohol (although it sounds like it doesn't contain much) rather than avoiding vanilla extract. As far as I know, when you cook with vanilla extract, the alcohol gets cooked out in the heating process. So there's really nothing to worry about with vanilla extract.

By betterment — On Nov 28, 2012

@anon242902 - That's very interesting. I was wondering if dark soy sauce had any alcohol in it when I was reading the article. It seems like it should because of the way it is made. However, before reading the article, I never thought soy sauce would contain alcohol.

I wonder if people who are in recovery from addiction avoid soy sauce? I have a friend who is in recovery and won't even eat a pie or cookie made with vanilla extract, so I wonder if she avoids soy sauce too. I will have to ask her.

By anon287558 — On Aug 25, 2012

Does anyone know why I would be allergic to Tamari but not soya sauce?

By anon242902 — On Jan 25, 2012

The alcohol in tamari and shoyu is not added; it is a by-product of the fermentation process. All soy sauces have it, about 1.8-3.0 percent by volume.

By anon144419 — On Jan 19, 2011

I recommend the Wanjashan Organic Soy Sauces currently available at Whole Foods. They have an organic gluten-free tamari in addition to an organic gluten-free Ponzu and organic gluten-free Worcestershire products.

By anon132708 — On Dec 08, 2010

A person can buy Tamari in health food shops, and also in some supermarkets that have a health food section.

By anon124030 — On Nov 04, 2010

Why is it not stated that both tamari and shoyu contain alcohol? I have seen this listed on two good, well known brands - is this true of traditional products?

By anon39581 — On Aug 03, 2009

you could probably find it on-line, if not in some hoity-toity specialty/health food store. I always find if you request something at your regular grocery store, they might start to carry it, especially if you weren't the first to ask. That's how my husband and I got our favorite dance hall/bar to carry Coors beer! Just by always ordering it. They said they didn't have it six times, but then one night, they did!

By anon27322 — On Feb 26, 2009

Where can a person buy Tamari?

Mary McMahon

Mary McMahon

Ever since she began contributing to the site several years ago, Mary has embraced the exciting challenge of being a...

Learn more
DelightedCooking, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.

DelightedCooking, in your inbox

Our latest articles, guides, and more, delivered daily.