Gluten-free muesli is a breakfast dish served with raw rolled oats or oat groats, nuts, seeds, fresh milk, and various sweeteners and spices to bring out the overall flavor. Some individuals on a gluten-free diet can consume the oats in regular muesli if they do not suffer from celiac disease; however, this varies between individuals. Since most oats commercially sold are manufactured with wheat products, the majority of muesli sold or made cannot be eaten by people with celiac disease. Muesli must be made using uncooked and certified gluten-free oats in order for it to be safe for those with gluten intolerance.
Normal muesli, a common healthy breakfast item made from raw and soaked oats, is often very low in gluten content, a protein found in wheat, barely, and rye. Oats are naturally gluten-free; however, during processing, oats often get cross-contaminated with wheat and other gluten-containing grains. This can lead to adverse reactions in those with gluten intolerance, and can present serious problems in those suffering from celiac disease. Gluten-free muesli is made with certified gluten-free oats that have been processed in a facility free from wheat and other gluten-containing foods.
Some gluten-free muesli recipes include a small portion of oats, using fruits, nuts, and seeds, as well as fresh cream or milk, to provide more bulk to the dish. With this type of muesli, it may be possible for an individual with a higher tolerance for gluten to consume it without experiencing negative effects. Gluten-free muesli pre-made and pre-packaged must be labeled as gluten-free and be certified before anyone with a high level of gluten intolerance or celiac disease can eat it. More often than not, gluten-free muesli will also contain dried fruits to add more bulk to the dish and lessen the dependence on a high proportion of oats.
Gluten-free muesli can be made quite easily without any form of oats at all. Buckwheat groats, as well as brown rice, can be used in place of the oats in most muesli recipes. These ingredients must be cooked in order to be consumed, yet they are natural gluten-free alternatives that are usually not processed with wheat. Other alternatives to oats include soaked and ground flaxseed and soaked and cooked quinoa. It is not unusual for gluten-free versions of muesli to include these alternatives to oats, as it lessens the risk of consuming even trace amounts of gluten.