Gluten-free pita bread is a type of pita bread that does not contain a protein called gluten. Gluten is a component of various grains such as wheat and barley. This protein has been linked to digestive disorders, including celiac disease. A person who has difficulty digesting gluten will often avoid the protein by purchasing or making gluten-free foods such as pita bread or sandwich bread.
Various types of grains, such as buckwheat and corn, do not contain glutens and are generally safe for a gluten-free diet. In the case of grains and starches such as rye and bulgur, the gluten content creates a reaction within the small intestine. This reaction can cause abdominal pain, but it can also have a long-term affect on the body. As the small intestine continually reacts with the gluten, important nutrients are lost, leading to deficiencies of vitamins that the body needs to function correctly. This condition, known as celiac disease, is why gluten-free food sources are needed.
Gluten is most often associated with bread, but any food that uses a grain or starch might contain this protein. These foods include cookies, cereals and even beer, to name a few. Gluten has its own unique characteristics. For example, it will not dissolve in water, and it cannot be extracted from the grain.
The inability to remove gluten from grains is the reason why alternative sources are needed for products such as gluten-free pita bread. In the grocery store, these foods are often labeled as “gluten-free.” With this labeling, people who are following a gluten-free diet can rest assured that they can eat the food without the risk of a reaction.
Pita bread is a common staple in many household pantries. The bread consists of two sides that are attached with the exclusion of a small opening. This opening is used to stuff a variety of ingredients into the slices to create a type of sandwich called a pita. Pita bread has a shape and texture that are different from those of typical sliced bread, which makes it a popular alternative. For people who are suffering from gluten intolerance, gluten-free pita bread can be an ideal substitute.
With the increased awareness of conditions such as celiac disease, food companies have provided new ways for consumers to enjoy their favorite edibles, such as pita bread, without the addition of gluten. Gluten-free pita bread simply omits the grains that contain the protein and uses grains and starches that are safe for a gluten-free diet, such as amaranth or rice flour. Creative cooks have also learned ways to make homemade gluten-free breads and pita bread in their own kitchens by using this same technique.