At DelightedCooking, we're committed to delivering accurate, trustworthy information. Our expert-authored content is rigorously fact-checked and sourced from credible authorities. Discover how we uphold the highest standards in providing you with reliable knowledge.
To choose a healthy soy sauce, consumers should look for a type of sauce that has been naturally brewed and is also low in sodium. This type of soy sauce is usually available for purchase in local grocery stores. Individuals with unique food allergies can find wheat free and gluten free varieties that have been fermented and are also low in sodium.
Soy sauce alone is not medically linked to any negative health conditions. This type of food is usually served as a condiment to accompany many different types of Asian cuisine. It is often found in Chinese, Thai, Japanese, and Vietnamese restaurants as a staple food additive that can add flavor and color to any food.
Those who are concerned about the origins and ingredients of the food they put into their bodies can benefit by purchasing a naturally brewed type of soy sauce. This type of sauce, which can be considered a type of healthy soy sauce, is created through a fermentation process using soy beans, wheat, and water. The resulting product is rich in flavor and texture, and does not contain artificial flavoring, sweeteners, or preservatives. Chemically produced soy sauce is often derived using hydrochloric acid and high fructose corn syrup, which can create an unpleasant taste and add calories to this type of food.
Soy sauce is often naturally high in sodium. This is often more true of chemically produced soy sauce than naturally brewed healthy soy sauce. Salt may be added as an ingredient to improve the flavor of the sauce and increase its shelf life. Individuals who have already been diagnosed with high blood pressure, high cholesterol, or hypertension should not consume chemically produced soy sauce that is high in sodium. These individuals can use instead a fermented sauce that has a reduced amount of salt, and is usually labeled as a low sodium variety.
Standard soy sauce typically contains traces of wheat which was used during the fermentation process. Those who have an allergy to wheat should look for a wheat and gluten free variety of healthy soy sauce which is fermented using alternative grains, so that no wheat or gluten byproducts are allowed into the finished product. The flavoring is typically described as more mild and less salty than traditional soy sauces. Those sauces made without this common ingredient are often available for purchase in specialty food stores or through Internet ordering.